“Me Earl and the Dying Girl” Book Review by Ellie

I would recommend this funny novel to all eight graders who are looking for a good book. Overall, I thought this book was written very interesting. I have never quite read a book like this. This book is very different than any other book I have ever read. I really like how Jesse Andrews made the story like you were in his mind. For example, it said things such as “I should stop writing now” or “I’ve already said too much”. I also really liked how you got to connect with the author. You went through the ups and downs of a teenage boy who has a really good friend and then is diagnosed with cancer. I also liked how the author made the connection with Earl. Earl helped get Jesse through many times. He helped him when his friend was sick and throughout there movie making. As a movie maker Earl and Jesse used it to help them get through there friend having cancer. Also, although it may sound like a sad book, this book made me laugh more than any other book I’ve ever read! It was really funny because you really got to hear what a teenage boy is thinking throughout the story. Earl and Greg (Jesse) kept it really real and told you the true feelings that they went through. Overall, this book kept me hooked the whole time. It never got boring and I was always smiling or laughing. I definitely recommend this book and would like to see the movie soon.

Leave a Reply

