The True Review from a Full Time American by Nic


The book The Absolutely True Diary of a Part -Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, was about a boy named Jr who lived on a Spokane Indian reservation, but one day he leaves to go to an all-white school. The book had so many intriguing drawings that made me want to keep on reading the book, mostly because I am also into art. In fact One of my favorite drawings in the book was on page 107 right after Penelope threw up her food and told Jr that “anorexics are anorexics all the time, I’m only bulimic when I’m throwing up.” Then after that a drawing of Jr’s dad is shown. It has him saying “I’m only alcoholic when I get drunk.” And Jr says WTF dad. The best part of the drawing was Jr’s dad’s expression to me. Also one quote from the book that I can relate to was on page 6 when Jr said “I think the world is a series of broken dams and floods, and my cartoons are tiny little lifeboats.” The reason I relate to it is because without drawing in my life I would be extremely bored all the time.
Throughout the book I found its premise to be extremely intriguing. When I picked the book up my eyes were instantly glued to it, I never even wanted to put it down. I really liked how the book was ssupposed to be kind of serious but it also included a whole lot of comedy, and I also enjoyed the adult humor which was the funniest thing to me, for example when Jr and Gordy talking about books, or when Jr mentioned right angles. Inappropriate but funny. But the main part I didn’t really like was on page 64 when Rodger was telling Jr. a joke which was not funny at all, in fact it was extremely stupid, to be honest it made zero since.
I don’t know why some adults think that this book is to inappropriate for their children because either even if kids don’t know about half the stuff this book mentions, they will find out eventually what it means, so why try to cause so much controversy about it. Nobody in the world likes all of the same things, like books, movies, or defiantly video games but that doesn’t mean you need to go and complain about it like a little baby. But in the end I found this to be one of the best, and fumiest books in history and i recommend you to read it.https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?p=amazon&ei=UTF-8&hspart=mozilla&hsimp=yhs-002

4 thoughts on “The True Review from a Full Time American by Nic

  1. I think you did a good job, Nic. I think you could of added more detail about the review on the book. Your blog post had great voice. Why do you think that banning books is bad? I made a connection with the story when Junior was dealing with Racism as I have dealt with racism in my life
    – Micah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Nic,
    I liked how you summarized book, clean and simple. I think you could have provided pictures for the first paragraph, but other than that it was good. Your post had a great reading tone and i enjoyed it.
    -Kaelyn

    Like

  3. I think you did a good job presenting your idea. i think you could use a little more detail. and you could have taken a closer look at what you wrote. I found 1 typo in the whole paper so not bad. but still pay a little more attention to what you write

    Like

Leave a Reply

