The BEST Day of my Life by Grace

“MOMMY? DADDY? Is anyone here?”

It was March 18 the day after St. Patrick’s Day and I could still hear the loud noises from the parade the day before… It scared me! I was also confused… I thought my parents would take me with them. It was 5 o’clock in the morning, and I could the leaves brushing against my window. It was thundering and lightening I was scared out of my mind. Why did they leave me in this vacant home alone, I am only five! Maybe something was wrong. Did something happen? Is that why mommy and daddy had to rush and they couldn’t bring me with them? I ran down the steps as fast as a lion, I ran into my kitchen and found nobody. I wanted to sit and cry because I was alone but I thought maybe I would check the dining room, and there I saw my grandma sitting down patiently waiting for me.  I guess she knew that as soon as I didn’t get a response from my mommy or daddy that I would come running down the steps. I squealed “Yay! Someone is here. I’m not alone.”

“Your mom and dad left about 2 hours ago… they went to the hospital because your new little sibling will be born any minute now” My grandma said excitedly.  “I am so excited, I don’t know what to “But I was also wonder, What if mommy and daddy don’t like me anymore? What if they decide that they are just going to keep the new baby? What if the new baby doesn’t like me? What if we don’t get along? What if the new baby takes all of my things, and doesn’t want to share with me. After I got everything figured out in my head I ran around the room chanting “I’m going to be a big sister, and I’m going to have a baby sibling!” “Grandma, I didn’t know that I could be even more excited than when I found out I would no longer be the only child” We sat down and talked for what seemed like forever about what it would be like to have a baby sibling, she reassured me, and told me that everything would be okay. “Your mommy and daddy will have to spend a little more time with the new baby, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t love me anymore” My grandma told me. “It just means that your little brother or sister needs a little more attention than you do, because it won’t be as behaved as you are. “Grandma the phone ringing!!!” I screamed. Is it my dad? Did something happen? Is my mommy okay? Is my new baby sibling okay? Was my new baby sibling born yet? Was the person who was calling even my daddy? Or could it be just some old sales person who doesn’t have anything better to do? After what seemed like a million years my grandma finally picked up the phone, and gave it to me.

“Hello” I say. “Hi Gracie!” My dad says with a voice that sounded like he was in a library but a very exciting library. “Did mommy have my little sibling yet, did mommy have him or her yet?” I yelled. “Mommy just had a little boy and his name is Case.” YAY! “I can’t t believe it! I have a baby brother, it was real… no more dolls… no more acting like he was here” I told my grandma this… ” I can’t believe it either, I am going to have another grandson!” She said. Time passed, it seemed like forever, but before I knew I would be meeting the little boy my family had talked about for almost a year. “As soon as I get mommy and Case situated, and made sure that they were okay I will come pick you up, so you can meet Case” I was so anxious and excited for my dad to come get me, so I could finally get to say hi, and get to say to people that I am a big sister! The first thing I did once I got off the phone with my daddy was call my cousin Allison we were best friends and I couldn’t wait to tell her the news, I was FINALLY a big sister.

We always fantasized about what it would like for me to have a baby sibling. It was so early in the morning I think I might have even woken Allison up, “I HAVE A BABY BROTHER!” I yelled into the phone. “I can’t believe it, I’ll be right back I’m going to tell my mom” She said happily. It was the most exciting day, and all of my family was there to also be so happy for my parents and me. The next hour or so which felt like a thousand years, I spent anxiously waiting for dad to come get me. “I know that you are excited! Just know that if you ever feel that you need some time away from your new little brother I am always here. Also know that you will be the best big sister in the world! I love you!” My grandma said from the bottom of her heart.

Time flew so fast, and before I knew it I heard the garage door opening and I ran to the garage and I saw my dad who came home from the hospital to pick me up, because I was excited to meet my new baby brother. As soon as he walked into the house I ran and gave him the biggest hug in the world. “Daddy, do you have any picture of Case?! I want to see how he looks! Will he be ugly… Are babies ugly? Wait no they’re not. Aren’t they always cute?! I don’t know I’m getting confused. “Here’s a picture… I only have a few though” He looks perfect! He is the cutest baby I have ever seen! I knew from that moment on that he would mean the world to me, and that he was gift sent straight from God for my family and I. My dad put my hair in two braids, and they were nowhere near as good as the two braids my mom would normally put my hair in, but for that day they were perfectly fine. “We are going to head out, and and I will see you a little later at the hospital.” My dad told my grandma. The car ride to the hospital seemed like a lifetime and a half. ” Daddy, how is Case doing? How is Mommy? How much does Case weigh?” These were all the different questions I asked my dad.

The moment we pulled into the hospital parking lot I jumped out of the moving car and ran up to my mommy and new brother’s hospital room. When I got into the room I almost jumped into the bad, but I saw my little brother in my mom’s arms and I decided that it was probably best that I didn’t jump onto the bed with a baby that is only a few hours old. I couldn’t believe it, as soon as I saw my brother I realized it was real I realized that he was really here. “MOMMY” I screamed,  I gave her the biggest hug ever and kissed my brother. “How is everyone? Why is Case sleep already?!” I was so confused. “He will be sleeping a lot for the first couple of months” My mommy told me… The only thing that I wanted more than anything was to be able to hold my little brother. My mommy said SURE! She wanted me to be able to hold her, so my daddy told me to sit down in a chair, and he took my brother from my mommy and handed him to me. Before I knew it I was holding my brother, and there I was with this tiny baby who was innocent and didn’t even know what was going on in the world. I was so nervous, I wasn’t sure if I was holding him the correct way. My parents helped to adjust me, and help me to hold Case in the most comfortable way possible for me and him.

I took some time to talk to my mom “How did everything go with grandma today?” She asked. “Daddy and I wanted to let you sleep, that’s why we left without you. “We were going to make sure that when you woke up you would have someone there.” My mommy also told me that she was going to be coming home in about two or three days, and my dad would be spending a lot of time with my new little brother, so her mom and my dad’s mom would be spending a lot of time with me!

I got to spend a few more hours with my new little brother, and then my dad told me it was time for me to go back home because I would have to go back to school the next day, because I already missed one day. I got to give my mommy and my brother a kiss goodbye and said goodnight to them.

My daddy and I had both had really long days. I fell asleep on the way home and my daddy took me into the house tucked me into bed, and then went back to the hospital and spent the night with my mommy and brother!

Leave a Reply

