Does the book hold up in 2014? by Max F.

I think the novel does hold up in 2014.  I think it does because of how severe the story is.  I think the common violence is something new to people in our community and in 2014.  If something is new then it will make more of an impact on someone then something they would have seen before.  Also violence is not very common in our daily lives and is a striking subject.  With both of these combined it is an imposing story that makes you think.  In today’s society smoking is viewed is horrible.  This clashes with the book’s view on smoking.  The kids smoke.  I think of that as tough and hard.  The whole book is like that.  I think if It was the other way around and smoking was viewed as horrible back then, but was ok now the book would not hold up.

It would be a whole different situation if the book was not as rough and tough.  I would not think about the actions in the book because there would really be nothing out of the ordinary.  If I was reading the book (non rough and tough) and somebody was being beat up right in front of me, I would pay more attention to the fight.  If I was reading the book like it is in the current state and someone was just having a stupid argument, I would pay more attention to the book.  It would be enough to draw my attention.  If the book was in the situations were opposite the book would be overshadowed by daily occurrences.

Rumble

 

 

3 thoughts on “Does the book hold up in 2014? by Max F.

  1. I agree that this story does hold up and really liked the points that you made. It was interesting how you were able to relate it to todays society and you life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

